CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Public Understands the “War on Terror” Isn’t Working

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

According to a new report from the Central Intelligence Agency, Al Qaeda has managed to rebuild itself to something approaching full strength in Pakistan as the ill-considered war in Iraq grinds on. This will come as no surprise to the American public, which is increasingly convinced that the Bush administration’s self-described “war on terror” is going nowhere—indeed is counterproductive.

Consider this result from a late June CBS poll. As the chart below shows, three-quarters of the public believe that U.S. involvement in Iraq is either creating more terrorists who plan to attack the United States (51 percent) or having no effect on the number of terrorists (24 percent). Just 17 percent think we are eliminating terrorists who might attack the U.S .by being in Iraq.

No wonder only 29 percent believe that we are currently winning the war on terrorism—the lowest level since the 9/11 terrorist attacks, according to a mid-June Gallop Poll (see below).

The latest news on Al Qaeda’s resurgence dramatically underscores the failure of the Bush administration to prosecute the war against those terrorists who attacked us on 9/11. The news is also likely to further reduce the already low number of Americans who believe administration policies can defeat these terrorists.

For more information on the public opinion on this issue, see:

For More information on the Center’s new strategy for Iraq and the war against terrorist networks, see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here