CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: Legally Married and Legally Fired

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In 37 states plus Washington, D.C., same-sex couples now have the freedom to marry.

Yet only 21 states have passed legislation that bans discrimination against lesbian, gay, and bisexual people in vital areas of life, including employment, housing, and public accommodations. Similarly, only 18 states explicitly protect transgender people from discrimination. This means that in 16 states and counting, same-sex couples can legally marry and can then be legally fired from their jobs, evicted from their apartments, denied credit, refused hotel rooms, and discriminated against in education all because of their sexual orientation. Should the U.S. Supreme Court rule in favor of marriage equality in June, this paradox of rights for same-sex couples will exist in 29 states. To learn more about the need for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, or LGBT, nondiscrimination protections, read the Center for American Progress report “We the People: Why Congress and U.S. States Must Pass Comprehensive LGBT Non-Discrimination Protections.”

legally married legally fired

Sarah McBride is a Research Associate for LGBT Progress at the Center for American Progress. 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Beatriz Lopez (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.741.6255 or blopez@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Rafael Medina
202.478.5313 or rjmedina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Sally Tucker
202.481.8103 or sstucker@americanprogress.org