CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: What the Public Thinks on the Anniversary of 9/11

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

This week marks the seventh anniversary of the September 11 terrorist attacks. Yet over the past seven years, we have yet to catch the perpetrator of this horrific crime, Osama Bin-Laden, or even come particularly close. This is despite good general knowledge about the part of the world and type of area he is likely residing in. Not surprisingly, given this 0-for-7 streak, the public has lost confidence that we will ever capture or kill Bin Laden.

A new CBS News poll found that just 36 percent of Americans believe it is very or somewhat likely that we will be able to bring the perpetrator of 9/11 to justice. That’s down from 70 percent in October 2001.

Chart One

The other thing the public believes is that the war in Iraq, which the Bush administration has focused on instead of bringing Bin Laden and his ilk to justice, has been a mistake. According to Gallup, 58 percent of the public now believes the war in Iraq is a mistake, while back in 2003, only 23 percent thought it was a mistake and 75 percent thought it wasn’t.

Chart Two

This seventh anniversary of 9/11 would be a good time to start doing what needs to be done to capture or kill Bin Laden while moving swiftly to end our tragic and resource-draining mistake in Iraq.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here