CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

U.S. Senate Should Pursue Other Options to Repeal “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”

SOURCE: AP/Alex Brandon

Defense Secretary Robert Gates, right, and Joint Chiefs Chairman Adm. Michael Mullen have urged the Senate to repeal "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" in the current lame duck session. Without today's vote on the National Defense Authorization Act the Senate should find other legislative options to repeal "Don't Ask, Don't Tell."

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The U.S. Senate voted this afternoon to not proceed to debate the 2011 National Defense Authorization Act. This was a vote against our national security and the men and women fighting in Iraq and Afghanistan. It was also a step backward in efforts to repeal the “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy, which Secretary of Defense Robert Gates and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Adm. Michael Mullen have urged the Senate to do in the current lame duck session.

The Center for American Progress strongly urges the Senate to pursue other legislative options including a standalone bill calling for DADT’s repeal in the remaining days of the current session of Congress. A growing number of senators from both parties have recently indicated they support repealing DADT. They agree that the policy is ineffective, discriminatory, and costly. It is time for it to be erased from our nation’s laws.

Winnie Stachelberg is the Senior Vice President for External Affairs and Rudy DeLeon is the Senior Vice President of National Security and International Policy at the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org