CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

AVAILABLE FOR COMMENT: CAP’s Conathan on BP Settlement, Next Steps

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, BP announced it has reached an agreement with the federal government to pay $4 billion in fines and other payments and plead guilty to 14 criminal charges related to the 2010 Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. Michael Conathan, Director of Ocean Policy at the Center for American Progress, will be available to comment on the next steps to ensure that appropriate action is taken to adequately compensate affected states for economic damage, natural resource damage, and civil liabilities, as well as additional considerations such as raising liability caps for future spills and ensuring that fines received by the U.S. Treasury go to the communities that need to rebuild.

See also:

To speak with Michael Conathan on this topic, please contact Christina DiPasquale at 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org