CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The “Patent Pending” Problem

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

SO COMMON is the phrase "patent pending" on US goods that Americans can be forgiven if they interpret it as a proud proclamation of success. "Our product is so special, we’re in line to win a patent!" In truth, however, all those patents pending are a sign of failure – the failure of the US Patent and Trademark Office to keep up with the torrent of innovation upon which our economy depends.

One million US patent applications are gathering dust today, waiting an average of three years to be examined and ruled upon. That’s a problem because despite the widespread notion that patents are about greedy companies gaining monopoly rights, the patent system is primarily a tool of progressive policy making – of sharing information and advancing technology.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org