CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Alternate Engine Would Be Waste of Money

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The Bush administration, the Obama administration, and a number of public-policy think tanks—including our own—have argued that the proposed alternate engine that would be built by the team of General Electric and Rolls-Royce for the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter is a waste of money. However, its supporters, including the entirety of the Virginia delegation in the House of Representatives, argue that it should be funded because the engine enjoys broad bipartisan support in the House and would enable money-saving competitions for the military.

Several of the key congressional supporters—Dennis Kucinich, a Democrat, and John Boehner, a Republican, of Ohio—are simply endorsing a program that would bring jobs to their home states. The same is true of newly minted Massachusetts Sen. Scott Brown, who has jettisoned his campaign rhetoric about political reform to preserve a few hundred jobs at the General Electric engine plant in Lynn, and Eric Cantor of Virginia, who ignored his own claim that the Republicans are the party of fiscal responsibility and discipline because Rolls-Royce just opened a new headquarters in Virginia.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Beatriz Lopez (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.741.6255 or blopez@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Rafael Medina
202.478.5313 or rjmedina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Sally Tucker
202.481.8103 or sstucker@americanprogress.org