CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Shutter This Death Trap

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Ever since the United States started airlifting prisoners from Afghanistan to the detention center at Guantanamo Bay in January 2002, there have been criticisms of "Gitmo."  Recently, President Bush’s chief military adviser, Admiral Michael Mullen, joined  ranks with Secretary of Defense Robert Gates, former Secretary of State Colin Powell, Sen. John McCain, former Attorney General John Ashcroft and President Bush himself in expressing a desire for the facility to be shut down. Now we should be moving past the question of whether Guantanamo should be closed and into a discussion of how and when it should happen. 

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org