CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Why We Must Protect Central American Mothers and Children Fleeing Violence

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Shortly after New Year’s Day 2016, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement agents began raids to pick up Central American families who came to this country fleeing violence. The Obama administration has announced that it will work with the United Nations to create ways for people to seek protection before making the dangerous journey to the United States. This is an incredibly important first step that signals a paradigm shift: that these children and families are refugees who need protection. But having that system in place does not free us from the legal and moral obligation to protect asylum seekers once they are here. Until appropriate procedural safeguards can be put in place, the Obama administration should halt the raids and ensure due process for these refugees.

Tom Jawetz is the Vice President of Immigration Policy at the Center for American Progress. Philip E. Wolgin is the Managing Director for the Immigration Policy team at the Center. Andrew Satter is the Director of Video at the Center. Kulsum Ebrahim is a Video Producer and Editor at the Center.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Beatriz Lopez (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.741.6255 or blopez@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Rafael Medina
202.478.5313 or rjmedina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Sally Tucker
202.481.8103 or sstucker@americanprogress.org