CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: The Land and Water Conservation Fund—How America’s Best Parks Program Works

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Fifty years ago, President Lyndon Johnson signed into law the Land and Water Conservation Fund Act, establishing what has become the nation’s most effective program for protecting natural, historic, and cultural treasures for future generations. Funded by revenues from offshore oil and gas development—not taxpayer dollars—the Land and Water Conservation Fund, or LWCF, has supported more than 40,000 state and local outdoor recreation projects and helped protect more than 7 million acres of land, including some of America’s most iconic public lands such as Grand Canyon National Park and Yellowstone National Park. Every dollar invested in land conservation through the LWCF creates $4 in economic value.

September 3 marks 50 years of success for the Land and Water Conservation Fund. Without action by Congress, however, the fund will expire in 2015 and America will lose its best parks program.

LWCF-infographic copy

Claire Moser is a Research and Advocacy Associate with the Public Lands Project at the Center for American Progress. Matt Lee-Ashley is a Senior Fellow and Director of the Public Lands Project at the Center. Nidhi Thakar is Deputy Director of the Public Lands Project at the Center. Pete Morelewicz is the Center’s Art Director. Preeth Srinivasaraghavan was an intern with the Public Lands Project at the Center.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org