CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Unlocking Progress on Climate Change

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The landslide election of progressives to the White House and Congress last November has ushered in a new energy era in American politics. President Obama set the stage for this shift last year when he tied energy policy to economics on the campaign trail, promising to move away from fossil-fuel reliance towards clean sources of energy to promote economic growth and job creation.

After less than six months in office, President Obama has already begun to make good on these promises. A list of the Administration’s achievements – one that is not exhaustive – includes strict new fuel efficiency standards for cars, a directive that allows the Enviromental Protection Agency to independently regulate CO2 emissions, several productive meetings of the Major Economies Forum to encourage direct conversations among the world’s major carbon emitters, and a $90bn clean energy investment in February’s massive stimulus bill.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org