CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Plan B Won’t Resolve the Fiscal Showdown

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

House Speaker John Boehner’s (R-OH) latest gambit to avoid making a deal to resolve the ongoing fiscal showdown would seriously damage the economy, raise taxes on millions of middle- and low-income families, and accomplish almost nothing to meaningfully address our long-term budget challenges. Other than that, it’s a great idea.

Earlier this week, President Barack Obama made House Republicans an exceedingly reasonable offer that moved more than halfway between each side’s starting bargaining positions. But instead of taking the deal or making a reasonable counterproposal, Speaker Boehner rejected the president’s offer and instead turned to what he is calling “Plan B.” Plan B’s patina of compromise—it allows a portion of the Bush tax cuts to expire for those with incomes of more than $1 million—is merely a shell of a plan that is bereft of seriousness and does way more harm than good.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here