CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Budget Lessons of Osama bin Laden

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The latest defense headlines understandably are dominated by the details of Osama bin Laden’s death at the hands of U.S. Navy SEALs. And while policymakers are beginning to draw lessons from that raid for U.S. strategy in Afghanistan and Pakistan, they should not overlook its implications for a topic much closer to home — the defense budget.

With at least some lawmakers on both sides of the aisle in agreement that defense spending must be part of U.S. deficit reduction efforts, the bin Laden operation could be the trigger needed to galvanize action on sensible spending reductions.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Politico.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org