CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Chatterjee & Dechter: GOP’s Hiring Freeze Would Chill Growth

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The GOP’s “Pledge to America” has some traditional conservative allies wishing Congressional Republicans would pledge themselves to more careful policymaking.

One part of the party’s agenda proposes a blanket nonsecurity hiring freeze — in the name of ensuring “that the public sector no longer grows at the expense of the private sector.” They might have first consulted the private sector, which for years has been clamoring for more federal workers to staff the Washington, D.C., agencies that issue patents, approve drugs, inspect food and generally reassure investors and entrepreneurs that America is a good place to do business.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Roll Call.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org