CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: John Podesta on the Supreme Court’s Proposition 8 Ruling

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Léalo en español

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today John Podesta, Chair of the Center for American Progress and Co-Chair of the American Foundation for Equal Rights advisory board, issued the following statement reacting to the U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling on California’s Proposition 8 case, Hollingsworth v. Perry:

Almost exactly 46 years to the day after the Supreme Court’s historic ruling in Loving v. Virginia, the Court has made yet another historic ruling reaffirming that marriage is one of our most basic civil rights. While today’s rulings represent a huge victory for LGBT Americans and we should celebrate the return of the freedom to marry to our most populous state, it’s unfortunate that the Court did not guarantee all Americans the right to marry the person they love. Nevertheless, the momentum for marriage equality is undeniable and unstoppable. I’m confident that all 50 states in the union will soon recognize that same-sex couples deserve all of the rights and responsibilities of marriage.

CAP experts available for comment

The following legal, political, and LGBT policy experts from the Center for American Progress are available for comment:

To speak with a CAP expert, please contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org