CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Korb on Pentagon Decision to Extend Benefits to Same-Sex Military Spouses

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today the Pentagon announced 20 new benefits to be available to gay service members and their families. In response the Center for American Progress released the following statement from Senior Fellow Lawrence J. Korb:

The Pentagon’s announcement today that it would extend a number of benefits to same-sex military spouses sends a clear message to the country, to Congress, and to the Supreme Court: There is no room for discrimination in our armed forces. Military officials have stated time and time again that inequality harms our troops and military readiness, and today the Pentagon has demonstrated its firm belief in this principle. As long as the Defense of Marriage Act remains law, however, the military will have no choice but to deny full benefits to same-sex military spouses, essentially treating these families as second class and thereby compromising military readiness.

See also:

To speak with CAP experts on this topic, please contact Christina DiPasquale at 202.481.8181 or cdipasquale@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org