CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Millennials Want a More Equitable Society

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Conservatives are hoping to build support among Millennials (defined by Pew as those adults born 1981 or after) by capitalizing on economic discontent. But Millennials’ high level of concern about inequality may make that very hard, since conservatives deny inequality is much of a problem and actually propose to make it worse through their favored tax and budget policies.

The Public Religion Research Institute, in conjunction with the Berkley Center for Religion, Peace and World Affairs, recently conducted a large-scale survey of college-age Millennials (ages 18-24). Among the findings was Millennials’ strong stand against inequality. Almost three-quarters (73 percent) agreed that “the economic system in this country unfairly favors the wealthy.”

millennials think the economic system favors the wealthy

Around 7 in 10 college-age Millennials (69 percent) also agreed that “the government should do more to reduce the gap between rich and poor.”

millennials think the government should do more to address inequality

Finally, 72 percent said they favored “increasing the tax rate on Americans earning more than $1 million a year.”

millennials think the government should raise taxes on the wealthy

Conservatives’ plans to exacerbate inequality may please some segments of the electorate but the Millennial generation does not appear to be one of them.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. To learn more about his public opinion analysis, go to the Media and Progressive Values page and the Progressive Studies program page of our website. 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here