CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Strong Public Support for Action on Jobs

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Conservatives sternly denounce the ideas in President Barack Obama’s proposed American Jobs Act. But the public is giving them a warm reception.

In the recent CBS/New York Times poll, respondents supported cutting taxes for small businesses by 81-14; supported spending money on infrastructure such as bridges, airports, and schools by 80-16; supported cutting payroll taxes by 56-30; and supported providing money to state governments to prevent layoffs by 52-40.

public supports ideas in president obama's jobs plan

Moreover, they support one of President Obama’s chief ideas for funding action on jobs. By 56-37, they agree that those earning $250,000 or more should pay more in taxes.

public supports rich people paying more taxes

Finally, by an overwhelming 63-18 in a recent Marist poll, the public thinks President Obama’s proposals do not go far enough. Clearly, the public believes the time for action has arrived.

does president obama's jobs proposal go far enough?

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. To learn more about his public opinion analysis go to the Media and Progressive Values page and the Progressive Studies program page of our website.  

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here