CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

How Governments Around the World Help Homeowners Enter and Remain in the Middle Class

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Many conservatives critical of the federal government’s role in mortgage markets claim that the United States is one of the only countries in the world that provides extensive government guarantees in its mortgage system. They point in particular to Europe, which does not have government guarantees for mortgage securitization analogous to those the U.S. government provides for mortgage-backed securities issued by Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, and Ginnie Mae, and argue that European governments don’t provide guarantees in their mortgage markets.

This argument is wrong, and in fact all European governments as well as Canada provide guarantees in their mortgage markets by guaranteeing the bank obligations that fund mortgages in these countries including bank deposits and covered bonds (also sometimes called mortgage bonds).

european governments do guarantee forms of mortgage finance

David Min is Associate Director of Financial Markets Policy at the Center for American Progress.

For more on this issue, see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org