CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Effects of Rising Energy Costs on American Families and Employers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Daniel J. Weiss, Senior Fellow and Director of Climate Strategy at the Center for American Progress, testifies before the House Oversight Subcommittee on Energy Policy, Health Care, and Entitlements. Read the full testimony (CAP Action)

Chairman Lankford, Ranking Member Speier, and members of the Subcommittee, thank you for the opportunity to testify on “The Effects of Rising Energy Costs on American Families and Employers.”

When considering energy prices, there are three primary considerations.

  1. Fossil fuel prices do not include the costs of their side effects such as air pollution and the associated health care costs for premature deaths or asthma attacks.
  2. The Obama administration has adopted important policies to reduce energy costs for middle- and lower-income families.
  3. Expanding domestic oil production in protected lands and waters will not lower gasoline prices, but high gasoline prices yield high oil company profits for companies receiving huge tax breaks.

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org