CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Wind Energy Provides Stable Middle-Class Jobs in America’s Heartland

Congressional Inaction on Key Tax Credit Threatens to Undermine the Industry

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

mp4

Iowa has become a national leader in the growing wind industry due to its natural potential and early adoption of the technology. Wind energy powers the equivalent of 900,000 homes in Iowa, and 200 companies provide thousands of middle-class jobs. It stands to gain even more, economically and environmentally, by promoting wind energy in the coming years.

However, congressional inaction on an important tax credit has threatened the industry in Iowa and throughout the nation. With the production tax credit set to expire in December 2012, manufacturers are already seeing a cut back in orders and developers are thinning their portfolios. Wind companies need clarity on future investments, and a looming tax credit expiration hurts business.

So who are the American workers with jobs in the wind industry impacted by political inaction? The Center for American Progress traveled to Iowa and met Nathan Crawford, a Lead Wind Technician at Alliant Energy’s Whispering Willow Wind Farm. We spent the day with Nathan and learned about the quality of life afforded by good-paying, middle-class jobs in America’s heartland.

Andrew Satter is the Video/Multimedia Producer at American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org