CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Mission creep: A short history

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As the U.S. Congress debates the use of military force against Bashar Assad’s regime, the primary question for people on all sides of the issue is this: Will these strikes pull the United States deeper into Syria’s quagmire?

Some who support the use of force ardently hope so. Sen. John McCain, for instance, would like to see the United States tip the scales of the conflict against Assad. After meeting with President Obama on Labor Day, McCain said that the president had addressed his and Sen. Lindsey Graham’s complaints about not supporting the rebels sufficiently. (He later changed his mind, apparently.)

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Politico.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org