CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Defense Cuts Won’t Hurt That Much

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Across-the-board spending cuts will be the most damaging thing to hit the Defense Department since Pearl Harbor.

That is, if you believe the defense establishment.

Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta claims that so-called sequestration will have a catastrophic impact on our national security and create a hollow force.

Sens. John McCain and Lindsay Graham are sounding the alarm about the profound negative consequences to our national security and economy.

And the Aerospace Industries Association claims that sequestration would result in the loss of more than 1 million jobs.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in CNN Money.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org