CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

6 Reasons America Is Safer Under Obama

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

There is no doubt that the U.S. is safer now than it was when Obama took office. Here are six reasons why:

First, Osama bin Laden is dead and the top al Qaeda leadership decimated as a result of Obama’s decision to authorize raids and exponentially increase drone strikes in Pakistan.

Second, the U.S. has withdrawn its military forces from Iraq. This eases the strain on our troops, saves lives, and frees up substantial funds, which allows us to focus more on Asia, where our allies are becoming concerned about Chinese assertiveness. Finally, it sends a clear message to the Arab and Muslim world that the U.S. is not an occupying power, undermining al Qaeda’s recruitment messaging.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News and World Report.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org