CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Time to Rein in Defense Budget

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Ever since the Pentagon unveiled its budget plan for fiscal year 2013 through fiscal year 2017, there has been controversy about how much of the regular, or base, budget is actually being reduced and whether additional reductions can be made.

Pentagon officials and their supporters claim the defense budget has been significantly reduced since Barack Obama took office and additional reductions would be catastrophic. On the other hand, others, including former House Majority Leader Dick Armey (R-Texas), argue that the plan does not in fact reduce defense spending.

Read this article here.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Politico.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org