CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Iraq War Unnecessarily Prolonged the Conflict in Afghanistan

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

An objective analysis that compares the costs of the war in Iraq with the benefits, something the Bush administration unfortunately did not do before its mindless, needless, senseless invasion, makes it clear that the Iraq war was not worth it.

The costs in blood and treasure are horrendous. Over the past eight and a half years, approximately 4,500 brave servicemen and women have lost their lives; another 32,000 have suffered physical wounds, and several hundred thousand psychological wounds, which have led to exponential increases in suicide, divorce, and spousal abuse rates.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News and World Report.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org