CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

How to Cut $1 Trillion from the Pentagon

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Make no mistake: The nation’s debt threatens our national security. That’s not just my opinion. Admiral Michael Mullen, the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, is among those who have warned that the unsustainable accumulation of debt will put the nation at risk by sapping the vitality of our economy.

The Pentagon cannot be left out of the hard choices that must be made about spending. In fact, the deficit commission appointed by President Obama has suggested reducing projected levels of defense spending by almost $1 trillion over the next decade.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in CNNMoney.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org