CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Competing with a Progressive Growth Policy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

We know three things about globalization. Lower transport and information costs and falling tariffs cause rapid increases in the movement of goods, services, capital and workers. These flows contribute to growth in global gross domestic product. Yet these developments are also one of the causes of increases in income inequality. The old free trade mantra claimed that this did not matter because all boats were lifted with the rising tide of globalization. But since 1973 the average hourly wage for 80 percent of American workers has risen by only a penny.

Since trade no longer works for everyone, it should not be surprising that the public is concerned. Some will argue that U.S. voters misunderstand the forces of technological change, which are a bigger driver of inequality than globalization. But detaching trade from technology is tricky. A recent study shows that the contribution of trade to inequality has probably risen over the last decade—amid the global flowering of information technology.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org