CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Housing Expert: FHFA Misses the Mark on Promoting Homeownership for Low-Income Borrowers and Communities of Color

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Allison Preiss
Phone: 202.478.6331
Email: apreiss@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, the Federal Housing Finance Agency, or FHFA, released its rule establishing affordable housing goals for 2015 to 2017. The affordable housing goals are a primary measure of Fannie Mae’s and Freddie Mac’s success in fulfilling their charter obligations to provide access to credit in all communities. Julia Gordon, Senior Director of Housing and Consumer Finance at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement in response to FHFA’s announcement:

On the single family side, FHFA missed a key opportunity to promote homeownership for low-income borrowers and communities of color. This decision is all the more disappointing given Fannie and Freddie’s continued lackluster performance in serving these borrowers and communities. On the other hand, the multifamily goals should help push Fannie and Freddie to better support affordable rental housing at a time when rent burdens are at all-time highs.

Broad availability and affordability of rental and homeownership options are crucial to increasing household opportunity, reducing economic inequality, and furthering racial justice. Going forward, FHFA should require Fannie and Freddie to implement policies, programs, and strategies to promote appropriate and sustainable housing options for the populations that need it most.

Related resources:

For more information or to speak to an expert, contact Allison Preiss at apreiss@americanprogress.org or 202.478.6331.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Beatriz Lopez (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.741.6255 or blopez@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Rafael Medina
202.478.5313 or rjmedina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Sally Tucker
202.481.8103 or sstucker@americanprogress.org