CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Vice President for Postsecondary Education David A. Bergeron Applauds Final Gainful Employment Rule from the U.S. Department of Education

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Allison Preiss
Phone: 202.478.6331
Email: apreiss@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, the U.S. Department of Education released its final “gainful employment” rule. Under current law, career-focused educational programs are required to prepare students for employment in a recognized occupation in order for the programs’ students to be eligible for federal student aid. David A. Bergeron, Center for American Progress Vice President for Postsecondary Education—who served as acting assistant secretary for postsecondary education at the U.S. Department of Education—released the following statement:

Today’s final rule on gainful employment strikes a balance between ensuring value and quality for students and taxpayers without condemning all for-profit colleges. The Obama administration’s rule reaches a middle ground by protecting students from bad programs while giving for-profit colleges incentives to improve the performance of their programs.

Over the course of the past few years, we have all learned more about how some students have been harmed rather than helped by enrolling in for-profit colleges. Since 2010, we have seen evidence of a ripple effect based on other regulatory changes and enhanced oversight by state attorneys general and the U.S. Department of Education, as well as the prospect of a future rule on gainful employment. The regulation is significantly stronger than the one struck down by courts several years ago—and it will ultimately keep the pressure on for-profit institutions to improve. The nation’s students will be better served as a result.

For more information on this topic or to speak with an expert, contact Allison Preiss at 202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Rafael Medina
202.478.5313 or rjmedina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Sally Tucker
202.481.8103 or sstucker@americanprogress.org