CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Carmel Martin on New York’s Teacher Evaluation Deal

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — CAP Executive Vice President for Policy Carmel Martin issued the following statement today reacting to the news of New York’s agreement to delay using results from the new Common Core aligned tests to evaluate teachers:

Leaders in New York should be commended for their determination to remain focused on what’s best for their students. Their agreement today to continue implementation of the Common Core State Standards in a reasonable way will help ensure that New York’s students are provided access to a world-class education and arm teachers with the tools they need to achieve success in the classroom.

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

Click here to view a collection of CAP resources about the Common Core State Standards.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org