CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Arkadi Gerney on Increased Funding to States to Improve Reporting to Background Check System

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Tom Caiazza
Phone: 202.481.7141
Email: tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Arkadi Gerney, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement after the House of Representatives voted to provide an additional $19.5 million for grants that will ensure that tens of thousands of additional records of prohibited firearm purchasers are provided to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for inclusion in the National Instant Criminal Background Check System, or NICS.

“When it comes to gun laws, 8 in 10 Americans—and most gun owners—agree that we need to strengthen our background check system to keep guns out of the hands of dangerous people. The top priority should be ensuring that background checks are required on all gun sales and that the records of dangerous people are in the NICS. Today’s bipartisan vote to pass the Thompson-King amendment is a step in the right direction and will mean that thousands of additional records of felons, abusers, fugitives, and the dangerously mentally ill go in the background check system where they belong.”

The NICS database is a crucial component of keeping dangerous individuals—such as felons, domestic abusers, and the seriously mentally ill—from purchasing or possessing firearms. However, millions of records that should be included in the database are missing, as states often do not have adequate resources to manage and automate the reporting of accurate records.

To speak with an expert on this topic, please contact Tom Caiazza at tcaiazza@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7141.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org