CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Matt Lee-Ashley on Obama Administration’s New Mitigation Strategy for Oil, Gas, and Energy Development on Public Lands

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Chelsea Kiene
Phone: 202.478.5328
Email: ckiene@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell announced a new strategy that will help modernize oil, gas, and energy planning on public lands by taking a landscape-scale approach to reducing and mitigating the environmental impacts of energy projects. In response to the announcement, Matt Lee-Ashley, Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

With oil and gas development booming, now is the time to develop smarter ways of siting projects, reducing environmental impacts, and ensuring that land, water, and wildlife resources are being protected for future generations. Secretary Jewell’s announcement today is another step toward providing much-needed reforms and modernizations to a federal oil and gas program that is well behind the times. Establishing a clear plan for reducing and mitigating the impacts of energy development on public lands is critical to ensuring the sustainability of the current energy boom and the long-term health of America’s lands and forests.

Today’s policy recommendations from the Department of the Interior are consistent with ideas and goals outlined in “A Blueprint for Balance,” a report published last year by the Center for American Progress and partner organizations. The report proposed a series of policies to ensure that drilling is happening in the right ways and in the right places, to improve mitigation from projects, and to restore balance to the management of public lands.

Related resources:

For more information, contact Chelsea Kiene at ckiene@americanprogress.org or 202.478.5328.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org