CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Tom Perriello on Senate Action Toward Confirming Patricia Millett to the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – In response to today’s cloture motion to proceed on the first of three nominees to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, Counselor to CAP and CAP Action President Tom Perriello issued the following statement:

Today’s Senate action to proceed toward a confirmation vote for Patricia Millett is an important first step to ensure that the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals—often considered our nation’s second most important court—is running at full strength. It is now up to Senate Republicans to decide whether they will continue their shutdown tactics or allow Ms. Millett and President Obama’s two other qualified D.C. Circuit Court nomineesNina Pillard and Judge Robert Wilkinsto have simple yes-or-no votes in the Senate.

President Obama has a constitutional duty to fill this vital court, and the Senate obstructionists must stop playing politics with the basic foundations of law and order. Americans should not be fooled by partisan spin regarding D.C. Circuit court vacancies.  A Republican filibuster on these nominees is simply another example of the right’s political playbook of obstruction at the expense of the American people. All three nominees to the D.C. Circuit deserve simple yes-or-no votes, not delay and unwarranted filibuster.

Related resources:

To speak with experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org