CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: John Podesta on Passing of Common Cause President Bob Edgar

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Center for American Progress Chair John Podesta issued the following statement on Common Cause President Bob Edgar’s passing:

I am deeply saddened by the news that Bob Edgar passed away yesterday. Bob was a dear, thoughtful, and warm-hearted friend to me and to the many others whose lives he touched during his decades of public service.

Through his six terms as a member of the Pennsylvania delegation to the U.S. House of Representatives, through his time as general secretary of the National Council of Churches, and most recently through his stewardship of Common Cause, Bob had one refrain: “We are the leaders we have been waiting for.” For Bob, every minute of every day was a chance to fight for social justice, for the principles of democracy, and especially on behalf of the poorest and voiceless among us.

I and everyone at the Center for American Progress and across the progressive community will miss Bob terribly. But we can take heart that, to the end, he passionately and compassionately worked for the public good. We should all strive to live by his example.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org