CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Jessica Arons and Sally Steenland on New Proposed Contraceptive-Coverage Regulation

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to the Obama administration’s decision today to stand strong behind the principle that all women deserve coverage for contraception with no co-pays or other cost sharing—regardless of where they work or attend school—Jessica Arons, Director of the Women’s Health and Rights Program at the Center for American Progress, and Sally Steenland, the Director of CAP’s Faith and Progressive Policy Initiative, issued the following statements:

Jessica Arons, Director of the Women’s Health and Rights Program:

This regulation ensures that millions of women will no longer face a cost barrier to accessing the contraception that they need.  We look forward to working with the administration to ensure that all women have seamless coverage for contraception and that employers cannot discriminate against women and their health care needs.

Sally Steenland, Director of the Faith and Progressive Policy Initiative:

This policy provides more than ample protection for the religious liberty concerns of religiously affiliated nonprofits that object to birth control.  At the same time it safeguards the health and conscience of employees who use birth control.

Today’s proposed rule accomplishes three things: It reaffirms that family-planning services constitute essential preventive care; it relies on the Internal Revenue Service code to clarify that all houses of worship are exempt from the contraceptive-coverage requirement; and it provides an accommodation to religiously affiliated nonprofit organizations that object to contraception, making it clear that they will not have to contract, arrange, pay for, or refer contraceptive coverage.

To speak with CAP experts, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org