CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Campus Progress’s Anne Johnson on Student Loan Rate Senate Deal

Party Leaders Reach Deal to Keep Interest Rate on Stafford Loans Steady

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Responding to months of activism by students and higher education advocates, press reports indicate that Senate leaders have reached a deal to prevent the interest rate on subsidized Stafford student loans from doubling on July 1 for 7.4 million students.

Anne Johnson, Director of Campus Progress, released the following statement:

With this important vote, millions of students will be able to return to school knowing that they will be able to afford their education. Thanks to the leadership of President Barack Obama and Sens. Harry Reid (D-NV), Tom Harkin (D-IA), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), and Jack Reed (D-RI), along with the thousands of student activists who made their voices heard, both parties have come together to find a bipartisan solution that prioritizes college affordability and helps more than 7 million students.

This is a huge victory for students, who faced a $1,000 hike if Congress failed to act. Higher education is a proven pathway to success and keeping it affordable and accessible for every interested American is crucial to strengthening the middle class and cultivating long-term economic growth.

Campus Progress has led the way in raising students’ voices. We coordinated in-state lobby visits, made phone calls, gathered petition signatures, sent students to meetings at the White House with President Obama and Vice President Joe Biden, held press conferences, released reports on Stafford loans, and organized a massive Student Debt Lobby Day on Capitol Hill where hundreds of students and young people met with their senators and called on them to take action.

The following experts are available to comment:

See also:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org