CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: Without the Promised Aid, Syrian Refugee Crisis Causing Significant Hardship on Host Countries

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Tom Caiazza
Phone: 202.481.7141
Email: tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — With much of the attention focused on the ongoing military conflict in Syria and now Iraq, little attention has been paid to the growing refugee crises these conflicts have produced. The millions of refugees that have fled Syria throughout the four-year civil war have caused significant economic and humanitarian strain for host nations—particularly Lebanon and Jordan. The Center for American Progress has published analysis calling on the international community—specifically wealthier nations in the region—to honor their commitment to provide economic aid to the nations hosting millions of Syrian refugees.

With the conflict in Syria now in its fourth year, nearly 3 million Syrians have been displaced to neighboring Jordan, Lebanon, Turkey, Iraq, and Egypt. The refugee crisis has depleted space and supplies in hospitals and schools and caused economic hardship in countries already lacking the job opportunities and resources to care for their own citizens. Countries such as Qatar and Saudi Arabia have promised hundreds of millions of dollars in aid to these nations but have so far only delivered a fraction of that amount.

“The economic and humanitarian situations in Jordan and Lebanon are putting considerable strain on these already struggling countries,” said CAP’s Shiva Pedram, author of the column titled “Syrian Refugee Crisis Threatens Stability in the Middle East.” “Wealthy nations in the region have promised aid but have so far failed to deliver. While spending billions preparing for the World Cup, Qatar—which pledged $100 million in aid—has so far provided slightly less than 3 percent of that. The influx of millions of refugees put these countries at risk for political violence and economic decline, further destabilizing an already unstable region.”

Click here to read the column.

For more information on this topic, contact Tom Caiazza at 202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org