CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: Peruvian President Ollanta Humala Discusses Peru’s Global Emergence at the Center for American Progress

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Tanya Arditi
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: tarditi@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In an address Monday at the Center for American Progress, His Excellency Ollanta Humala, president of Peru, discussed his nation’s growing global engagement and its connection to his work to advance economic and social inclusion in Peru. Co-hosted by the Inter-American Dialogue, the event took place ahead of President Humala’s scheduled meeting with President Barack Obama on Tuesday, June 11, at the White House.

“We are honored that President Humala chose to have his first official event at the Center for American Progress,” said Neera Tanden, President of CAP. “CAP applauds President Humala on his strong and pragmatic leadership, which has aided in ensuring Peru’s consistent economic growth and enhanced economic and social inclusion, as well as its increasing emergence in the international arena.”

The event also featured introductory remarks by Michael Shifter, president of the Inter-American Dialogue, and was moderated by Dan Restrepo, CAP Senior Fellow and former White House advisor.

“The Government of Peru fights for the country’s development, our motto of the great transformation means providing opportunities for the public and to this end, important decisions have been made for the short, medium, and long terms,” affirmed President Humala.

President Humala’s remarks were delivered in Spanish, with simultaneous translation. Full video of the event can be seen here. To obtain a copy of the President’s remarks in English and in Spanish, please contact Tanya S. Arditi via phone at 202.741.6258, or via email at tarditi@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org