CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for Women’s Issues to Discuss Women’s Economic Success and Global Growth

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.The U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women’s Issues Melanne Verveer will participate in a special conversation at the Center for American Progress with CAP President Neera Tanden as part of our Women’s Leadership Series. Ambassador Verveer will reflect on her experience championing women’s issues around the world and what she sees as the challenges and opportunities facing our next generation of women leaders.

Ambassador Verveer will also discuss new evidence that underscores the importance of empowering women for economic growth, sustainable development, and peace building. Bringing women into the economy is a proven way of delivering meaningful economic growth. Women can be major contributors in peace building initiatives and are crucial to maintaining safe and secure societies. Investing in women and girls is smart policy.

WHO:

Introduction by:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

Featured speaker:
Melanne Verveer, U.S. Ambassador-at-Large for Global Women’s Issues

WHEN:

July 23, 2012
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

RSVP

RSVP for this event
For more information, call 202-682-1611

Location

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions
Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org