CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

PRESS CALL: Unconstitutional and Costly: The High Price of Local Immigration Enforcement

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Listen to today’s press call here. (mp3)

Washington, D.C. — As state and local governments consider harsh immigration enforcement measures, they must first study the high prices paid by taxpayers in cities that experimented with local laws and got burned. Two new reports by the Center for American Progress and the Southern Poverty Law Center document the financial, economic, and social costs of the local laws that the courts have deemed unconstitutional, and the buyers’ remorse in the towns that engaged nativist lawyer Kris Kobach.

To delve more deeply into the consequences facing jurisdictions that seek to ignore federal authority over immigration, the Center for American Progress will host a press call with a local leader with vast experience on immigration policy—Prince William County Supervisor Frank Principi—and the authors of the two studies on local immigration enforcement.

WHAT: A telephonic press conference call with a local government official involved in ongoing immigration debates and the release of a report by the Center for American Progress, “Unconstitutional and Costly: The High Price of Local Immigration Enforcement,” and a second study by the Southern Poverty Law Center, “When Mr. Kobach Comes to Town: Nativist Laws and the Communities They Damage.”

WHO:

Supervisor Frank Principi, Prince William County, Virginia

Gebe Martinez, Senior Writer and Policy Analyst, Center for American Progress

Mark Potok, Director, Intelligence Project, Southern Poverty Law Center

Heidi Beirich, Director of Research, Southern Poverty Law Center

Moderator: Angela M. Kelley, Vice President of Immigration Policy and Advocacy, Center for American Progress

WHEN: Monday, January 24, 2011 at 11:00 a.m. EST

To RSVP to the call, please contact Raul Arce Contreras at rarcecontreras@americanprogress.org or at 202.478.5318.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org