CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Discussion on John Paul Stevens’ Retirement, the Counterweight to the Court’s Conservative Majority

June 29, 2010, 6:30pm – 7:30pm

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The retirement of Justice John Paul Stevens marks the end of a controversial chapter for the U.S. Supreme Court. As the administration and Congress work to fill Justice Steven’s seat on the nation’s highest bench, a new biography sheds light on the career and life of the second longest serving justice in the Court’s modern history. A Republican appointee, today Stevens is the principal counterweight to the Court’s conservative majority. In John Paul Stevens: An Independent Life authors Bill Barnhart and Gene Schlickman reveal how Stevens fights for judicial balance and how his story can guide Obama and future presidents in filling Court vacancies.

Please join the Center for American Progress for a discussion with the authors of this insightful and timely new biography.

Copies of the book will be available for purchase at the event.

Featured panelists:

Bill Barnhart, co-author, John Paul Stevens: An Independent Life Gene Schlickman, co-author, John Paul Stevens: An Independent Life

Moderated by:

John Halpin, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

Refreshments will be served at 6:00 p.m.

RSVP

Click here to RSVP for this event For more information, call 202-682-1611

Location

Center for American Progress 1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions 

Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org