CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Interactive Map: Ranking Our Foreign Aid Recipients

Is Our Assistance Going to Countries that Will Use It Wisely?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

See also: Engagement Amid Austerity by John Norris and Connie Veillette

A new report from the Center for American Progress and the Center for Global Development argues that it’s only sensible to ask if the countries currently receiving U.S. economic and security assistance are good places to invest increasingly scarce development dollars. The report makes the case that the United States should put more money into fewer countries, focusing on nations where governments are willing to embrace reform. This approach will make our aid programs more likely to succeed.

This interactive helps you explore how current recipients of U.S. assistance rank on indicators ranging from their observance of the rule of law to the percentage of gross national product spent on the military. The report includes our recommendations for which countries to focus on going forward.

See also:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org