CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Reclaiming the Common Good

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

A new research study sponsored by the Faith and Progressive Policy Initiative at the Center for American Progress finds that American voters are increasingly worried about rising materialism, self-interest, and unethical behavior in our society. They strongly desire a government that focuses on the common good and basic decency and dignity of all Americans.

The research includes consultations and interviews with diverse religious leaders, 10 focus groups in four U.S. cities, and a national survey of registered voters. The poll, conducted by Financial Dynamics, reveals that progressive moral themes about public life have deep resonance with large segments of the American population. Voters are deeply concerned about rising materialism and self-interest in American society. They want government to be focused on the common good and greatly value an emphasis on the basic decency and dignity of all people.

  • 71% of voters strongly agree that “Americans are becoming too materialistic,” including 71% of Democrats, 70% of Independents, and 72% of Republicans. (92% total agree.)
  • 68% of voters strongly agree that the “government should be committed to the common good and put the public’s interest above the privileges of the few.” (85% total agree.)
  • 73% of Democrats, 62% of Independents, and 67% of Republicans strongly agree with a common good focus for government. A similar percentage of voters (68%) strongly agree that “government should uphold the basic decency and dignity of all and take greater steps to help the poor and disadvantaged in America.” (89% total agree.)

For more information:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org