CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Statement on the Passing of CAP Founding Director Marion Sandler

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Marion Sandler was a pioneering woman in finance, a coach and conscience for progressive organizations, and a tough-minded woman of enormous decency who tried to make government and business more responsive to the needs of ordinary Americans.

In each station of her life—from Maine where she was raised, to New York where she was a path-breaking woman in the financial world and met Herb Sandler, to many years in California where they built and ran a highly regarded business and raised a beautiful family together—Marion Sandler lived the American dream.

She gave back her resources and devoted her talents through extraordinary philanthropy. She not only helped launch the Center for American Progress, but gave us our name and trained us to pay attention to excellence, credibility, and building for the long-term.

Marion also had a well-earned reputation for being tough. Talking to her about a new idea or program often felt like defending a doctoral dissertation, but she could also be incredibly warm, kind, and thoughtful. I never left a conversation with Marion without some of her wisdom and charm rubbing off on me. She was a remarkable woman, mother, partner, and friend.

Marion left this world, as she had wanted, having done all she could to expand opportunities for ordinary Americans, particularly the left out and the left behind, so they could lift up their own lives and receive a better break from the way business and government served them.

We will miss her. We embrace Herb Sandler and their children, Susan and Jim and their families, as they experience this great loss.

For additional information about Marion Sandler’s legacy please visit www.marionsandler.com.

John Podesta is Chair and Counselor of the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org