CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Lies, Damned Lies, and Reporting on Federal Pay

SOURCE: AP/Mark Lennihan

The New York Times and The Philadelphia Inquirer both repeated this week the statistical lie that federal workers are overpaid.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Mark Twain said there were three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics. In reporting this week on President Barack Obama’s proposed federal workforce pay freeze, The New York Times and The Philadelphia Inquirer both repeated the statistical lie that federal workers are overpaid.

“In 2009, federal civil servants earned average pay and benefits of $123,049. Employees in the private sector made $61,051 in total compensation,” the Inky’s editorial board said, referring to a misleading USA Today article that we called out in October. The Times likewise gave voice to a CATO Institute report that “found that federal civilian workers had an average annual wage of $81,258 in 2009, compared with $50,464 for the nation’s private-sector workers.”

Again, for the hearing impaired: The data is bad, and the studies are wrong. For the straight dope read today’s Progress Report analysis and Lauren Smith’s “Correcting Myths About Federal Pay: Conservatives Compare Apples to Oranges.”

Pratap Chatterjee is a Visiting Fellow at the Center for American Progress who is focused on federal procurement reform.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org