CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Stuck in First Gear

Unemployment Remains High in September

SOURCE: AP/Julie Jacobson

Mark Cozart of Las Vegas reads listings for job opportunities at a job fair on October 5, 2010, in Las Vegas. The private sector added jobs last month, but not enough to bring down the near-record-high unemployment rate of 9.6 percent.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The labor market remains stuck in first gear and is in danger of stalling altogether. The private sector added 64,000 jobs last month, far less than half as many as necessary just to keep pace with population growth. While this is a significant improvement over going in reverse, it’s insufficient to bring down the near-record-high unemployment rate of 9.6 percent.

The federal government shed 77,000 temporary Census workers last month and local governments laid off 76,000 workers as policymakers have faced declining tax revenues due to high unemployment and high foreclosures. This is exactly the wrong time for state and local governments to drag down our economy.

Today’s papers led with the story that in New Jersey, the governor has decided to abandon an $8.7 billion project (of which New Jersey would only pay about a third) that would add capacity to the 100-year-old tunnel connecting New Jersey and Manhattan. This is exactly the kind of project that we need right now: Put people back to work and address our deteriorating infrastructure.

Heather Boushey is Senior Economist at the Center for American Progress.

For more on this topic see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org