CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: What You Need to Know About Housing Finance Reform

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Five years after mortgage giants Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac were placed under the control of the federal government, our country’s conversation about housing policy and the government’s role in the mortgage market is finally moving forward.

The outcomes of this conversation will shape our country and economy for decades to come. The reform choices we make now could provide credit to a broad and diverse population, increase the supply of affordable apartments, and result in a larger, more stable housing market. Or they could create an environment in which credit and housing choices are more costly, more limited, and less sustainable, especially for minority and low- and moderate-income households and communities.

These choices are sometimes quite technical, but they have profound consequences for the future strength of our economy, housing market, and the opportunities for millions of families. To promote a better-informed, richer discussion, the CAP Housing Team has developed four fact sheets that explain the federal government’s current role in housing finance, recommend core principles for reform, and provide basic information on some technical issues.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here