CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Congressional Republicans Need to Refocus Their Tax Policy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

On Election Day voters were given the choice between two totally divergent and incompatible political philosophies, and they seemingly voted for both. President Barack Obama had a clear win in the popular vote and nearly ran the board in the battleground states, piling up virtual landslide in the Electoral College with more than 60 percent of the total electors. His party’s victories in U.S. Senate races were even more impressive: Of the 33 Senate seats contested this week, Democrats—or Independents who will caucus with them—won 25 seats, or nearly 76 percent.

Even before the polling places opened on Tuesday, House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) gave an alternative interpretation of what he appeared to recognize was not going to be a good day for his party. “Listen, our majority is going to get re-elected. We’ll have as much of a mandate as he [President Obama] will … to not raise taxes,” he told Politico.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here