CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Despite Advances, Women Still Have a Long Way to Go

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Here are some facts that will make your eyes pop: In the U.S. today, 47% of the workforce is comprised of women, yet 42 million women live at or near the brink of poverty. Women are the breadwinners or co-breadwinners of nearly two thirds of American families; they control $20 trillion in global spending and outnumber men at every level of the higher education ladder.

Like for most of you, women are at the center of my life. They are the pillars that sustain my family and my community. They are role models, supporters, providers and caregivers. And they are the ones driving the civic participation of their families.

Many of the women I know have gone on to college and are now in solid middle class careers. But I also know many who, for a myriad of reasons, did not. Yet, regardless of whether they are college educated or working in low-skill jobs, they are all struggling to leave their kids on better economic footing. And many of them find it difficult to balance work and family responsibilities in light of our outdated policies—such as unpaid sick days—which sometimes put their, or even their partners’, jobs at risk.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Mamiverse.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org